MCC News

Mon, May. 17, 2010 - [Softball] - Viewed 1714 times - Post By
Tyanna Helton (WPU): MCC Softball Player of the Year
Tyanna Helton (WPU): MCC Softball Player of the Year
The Midwest Collegiate Conference has announced its all-conference honors for the 2010 softball season. Thirty-seven athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by coaches.

For the second straight year, William Penn senior infielder Tyanna Helton (Santa Rosa, Calif.) was named the MCC Player of the Year. Helton dominated in a number of hitting categories again this year, hitting .458 with 77 hits, 46 runs scored, 19 doubles, 14 home runs and 56 runs batted in. She led the conference in batting average, hits, doubles, RBIs and total bases (138), tied for first in runs scored and was second in homers. She finished a distinguished career at Penn as the school's all-time leader in home runs.

"I am glad to see Tyanna made Player of the Year for the second year in a row," said William Penn Head Coach Mike Christner."She had a good offensive year and was always noticed by the other team in the lineup.She had a great career at William Penn leaving with numerous records. She was definitely one of the best players in the league."

Mount Mercy sophomore Becca Smith (Solon, Iowa) was chosen as MCC Pitcher of the Year. Smith has posted a 26-3 record this year with a 1.01 earned run average, allowing just 99 hits in 186 innings pitched and striking out 276 while walking just 19. Smith set the school single-season strikeout record for the second straight year and also ranks among the NAIA national leaders in numerous categories, including being among the top 10 in the country in strikeouts, wins and opponents' batting average (.150).

"Becca has been an integral component to the success of Mount Mercy softball," said Mount Mercy Head Coach Glenn Johnson. "She has worked very hard to get to where she is today.Her contribution is reflected not only by statistics, but also by her outstanding competitive spirit and her consistent poise in the circle."

Johnson also was chosen by his peers as the MCC Coach of the Year after leading the Mustangs to the regular season and postseason tournament titles. Johnson won the award for the first time and this year led Mount Mercy to a 19-2 mark in conference play for its first conference championship since 1992. The Mustangs also won the MCC's automatic berth to the NAIA National Softball Tournament and will be making their fourth trip to the national tournament and first since 1990."

Coach Johnson and his staff have done a tremendous job of taking a softball program that was struggling and turning it into a conference champion in four years," said Mount Mercy Athletic Director Scot Reisinger. "On top of that, the team's achievements in the classroom have also been outstanding."

Midwest Collegiate Softball All-Conference
MCC Player of the Year: Tyanna Helton - William Penn
MCC Pitcher of the Year: Becca Smith - Mount Mercy

MCC Coach of the Year: Glenn Johnson - Mount Mercy

2010 Midwest Collegiate Softball First Team All-Conference
Elizabeth Hill (Shellsburg, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Brianna Williams (Monona, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Melissa Krueger (Illinois City, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Andrea Blanchard (Charles City, Iowa) - Waldorf
Katie Bredlow (Altoona, Iowa) - Waldorf
Tyanna Helton (Santa Rosa, Calif.) - William Penn

Meghan Tomlinson (Fort Worth, Texas) - Grand View
Sheena Canady (Oelwein, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Jessica Murphy (Washington, Iowa) - St. Ambrose
Laura Read (Stanhope, Iowa) - Waldorf
Khyia Lewis (Ottumwa, Iowa) - William Penn


Emily Gilbert (Prairie City, Iowa) - Grand View
Betsy Ward (River Falls, Wis.) - Viterbo

Becca Smith (Solon, Iowa) - Mount Mercy

Hannah Lugar (Kalona, Iowa) - William Penn
Monica Villarreal (Oceanside, Calif.) - William Penn

Megan Tompkins (Marion, Ark.) - Grand View

Designated Player:
Melissa Vance (Charles City, Iowa) - Waldorf

2010 Midwest Collegiate All-Conference Softball Honorable Mention Team
Jessie Rosenow (DeWitt, Iowa) - Ashford
Colleen Dansart (Oak Lawn, Ill.) - Clarke
Nicky Newhoff (Cedar Falls, Iowa) - Clarke
Sheila Finnell (Winfield, Iowa) - Grand View
Lauren Vitiello (South Elgin, Ill.) - Grand View
Courtney Yacinich (Urbandale, Iowa) - Grand View
Ayla Serrano (Rock Island, Ill.) - Iowa Wesleyan
Leigha Strong (Muscatine, Iowa) - Iowa Wesleyan
Briana DeFlavio (Simi Valley, Calif.) - Mount Mercy
Rosie Jones (Lisbon, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Emily Madsen (Iowa City, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Bethanee Nitz (Menomonee Falls, Wis.) - Viterbo
Sami Weaver (Trempealeau, Wis.) - Viterbo
Rachel Hannam (St. Ansgar, Iowa) - Waldorf
Jennifer McLarney (Fairfield, Iowa) - Waldorf
Kara Atkins (Burlington, Iowa) - William Penn
Hailey Dreyer (Twin Lakes, Wis.) - William Penn
Krystina Lorah (Moreno Valley, Calif.) - William Penn
Ashley Stream (Chariton, Iowa) - William Penn