MCC News

Mon, Nov. 16, 2009 - [Volleyball] - Viewed 2013 times - Post By
The Midwest Collegiate Conference has announced its volleyball all-conference honors for the 2009 season. Twenty-three athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches, including 14 to the First Team and nine to the Honorable Mention Team.

Grand View freshman outside hitter Devon Jensen (Underwood, Iowa) was named both the MCC Newcomer of the Year and the conference's Player of the Year. Jensen far and away led the MCC in kills (4.23 kpg), piling up a total of 605 kills over 38 matches. She also was second on her team in digs with 484 (3.38 dpg), tied for second on the Vikings in blocks (68) and also was second in service aces with 28.

"We are so excited and proud that Devon was named both Newcomer of the Year and Player of the Year," said Grand View Head Coach Tina Carter."Itwas a lot of funthis season to coachher and Ipersonally enjoyedwatching her grow and improve within our system.She is an incredible athlete and a student of the game.She is constantly pushing to learn more, is always asking what she can do to improve and is incredibly coachable.She leads by example, works hard and is one of the most competitive players I've coached.Devon really stepped up as a freshman andshowed that she was able to handle anything that we asked her to do.As evidenced by the success we shared thisyear, it isobvious that Devon was a criticalcomponent and earning these awards is a great honorfor her, our coaching staff and the Grand View volleyball program."

Carter joined Jensen among those receiving some of the conference's highest honors as she was named MCC Coach of the Year. She led the Vikings to a 24-14 overall record and 7-1 conference record for a second-place finish in the MCC in the regular season. In her second year as GVU coach, she oversaw the Vikings' rise from seventh in the MCC last year up near the top of the league this year.

"Tina Carter is a very deserving recipient of the MCC Volleyball Coach of the Year award," said Grand View Athletic Director Troy Plummer. "She and her staff have worked diligently to elevate the competitive level of our volleyball program in the last two years. The increase in the number of wins is obvious, but even more impressive is the preparation and effort of the team. We are extremely proud of the success of this year's volleyball team and Coach Carter's influence on that success."

Viterbo senior Heather Harelstad (Chippewa Falls, Wis.) was once again chosen as the MCC Libero of the Year. Harelstad won the award for the third straight year and finished her career as the V-Hawks' all-time leader in digs with 2,741. This year she led Viterbo to the MCC Tournament championship match and finished third in the MCC in total digs with 677. She also placed fifth in the conference with 4.64 digs per game.

"Heather has been the heart and soul of our defense for the past three years," said Viterbo Head Coach Ryan DeLong."She brings 100% effort every day, no exceptions, and that is what has made her so successful.The way she plays has changed how everyone else around her plays, she makes everyone work harder and in turn, makes them better. Heather makes plays that no one else can make-I see her every day in practice and the plays she makes on the floor still amaze me."

St. Ambrose senior Lauren Aderman (Chicago, Ill.) was named the conference's Setter of the Year. Aderman helped lead the Queen Bees to the MCC regular season and tournament championships, finishing with 1,068 assists (7.22 apg). This year she also broke the school record for assists with 3,489, and she will finish her career being a part of three conference championship teams in four years.

"Lauren has been a great leader for our team, both on and off the court," said St. Ambrose Head Coach Bruce Billingsley."Her skill and work ethic have helped to rank us as one of the top teams in the country for kills and hitting percentage this season. Lauren's competitive instincts and determination over the past four seasons have helped us win 69% of our matches and three conference titles during her career."


Midwest Collegiate Volleyball All-Conference

MCC Player of the Year: Devon Jensen - Grand View

MCC Libero of the Year: Heather Harelstad - Viterbo

MCC Setter of the Year: Lauren Aderman - St. Ambrose

MCC Newcomer of the Year: Devon Jensen - Grand View

MCC Coach of the Year: Tina Carter - Grand View

First Team
Kelsay McCausland - Ashford
Allison Uceda - Ashford
Amber Boevers - Grand View
Devon Jensen - Grand View
Kendra Zimmerman - Iowa Wesleyan
Brittney Thomas - Mount Mercy
Lauren Aderman - St. Ambrose
Kait Gallagher - St. Ambrose
Megan O'Shea - St. Ambrose
Amy Royer - St. Ambrose
Amy Braaksma - Viterbo
Heather Harelstad - Viterbo
Jenna Lau - Viterbo
Emily Stanton - William Penn

Honorable Mention Team
Ashley Shields - Clarke
Ashtyn Neill - Grand View
Megan McVey - Iowa Wesleyan
Jena Blint - Mount Mercy
Jackie DalCerro - St. Ambrose
Catherine Wildner - St. Ambrose
Abby Breitung - Viterbo
Andrea Blanchard - Waldorf
Shantelle Brown - William Penn