MCC News

Mon, May. 4, 2009 - [Baseball] - Viewed 3121 times - Post By Molly Brown
Frany Cruz - Player of the Year
Frany Cruz - Player of the Year

The Midwest Collegiate Conference announced its 2009 baseball all-conference honors and its Gold Glove Team. Thirty-five athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches and nine were chosen to the Gold Glove Team.

Iowa Wesleyan senior second basemen Frany Cruz was selected as the MCC Player of the Year. Cruz batted .351 in league play with 27 hits, 9 runs, 2 doubles, 2 home runs, and 13 RBI.

"Frany has been a very consistent player for me over his two years here. He has the ability to play all positions and hit anywhere in the line up. That adjustment was evident this year as he came back and played 2B most of the season and received all conference honors there after receiving all conference honors as an outfielder for the 2008 season. A very deserving player that will be difficult to replace as a player and person next season," said Iowa Wesleyan Head Coach Brett Monaghan.

William Penn senior Micah Spencer (Modesto, Calif.) was voted as the MCC Pitcher of the Year. Spencer went 6-0 in MCC games this season with an ERA of 1.77. He was the MCC Player of the Week on April 27th.

"Micah consistently provided our team with a good chance to win every time he took the ball as evidenced by his perfect record. He is also one of our hardest working players on the team," said Statesmen Head Coach Mike Laird.

William Penn head coach Mike Laird was selected by his peers as the MCC Coach of the Year; his fourth such league honor. Laird led the Statesmen to a 17-6 conference record for first place in the regular season. William Penn went undefeated in to claim the MCC Tournament title and earn an automatic bid to the NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round. The Statesmen are currently 35-15.

"Mike is very deserving of this award," William Penn University Athletic Director Greg Hafner said. "Our baseball team has had an outstanding year and he works very hard at preparing them each time out. We at William Penn University are very proud of what the team has accomplished this far in 2009."

MCC Player of the Year: Frany Cruz - Iowa Wesleyan
MCC Pitcher of the Year: Micah Spencer - William Penn
MCC Coach of the Year: Mike Laird - William Penn

2009 Midwest Collegiate Baseball First Team All-Conference
Eddie Sobczak (1B) - William Penn
Frany Cruz (2B) - Iowa Wesleyan
Edder Morales (SS) - Iowa Wesleyan
Alex Chavez (SS) - William Penn
Brian Cummings (3B) - Ashford

Jared Zueck - Iowa Wesleyan
Matt Mercier - Mount Mercy

Jeff Gauley - St. Ambrose
Garrett Jenner - William Penn

Rey Lopez - Mount Mercy
Ramon Cabral - William Penn

Starting Pitchers:
Hector Acevedo - Iowa Wesleyan
Derrick Weber - Mount Mercy
Micah Spencer - William Penn
Chris Wedel - William Penn

Relief Pitcher:
Sean McIntosh - Mount Mercy

Designated Hitter:
Casey Schuenemann - St. Ambrose

2009 Midwest Collegiate Honorable Mention All-Conference Baseball Team
Nick Lenzendorf - Viterbo
John Pogatchnik - Viterbo
Eli Tupuola - Viterbo
Eric Gruhlke - Viterbo
Chris Cutler - Grand View
Jake Steve - Ashford
Devin Smith - Iowa Wesleyan
Scott Chirpich - Waldorf
Justin Kleinsmith - Mount Mercy
Jorge Martinez - Iowa Wesleyan
Keith Rizor - William Penn
Brandon Pitz - Waldorf
Clay Rominger - Grand View
Kyle Matkaitis - St. Ambrose
Justin Haas - Clarke
Bryan Kloetzke - Waldorf
Kyle Merten - St. Ambrose
Nick Golich - William Penn

2009 Midwest Collegiate Golden Glove Baseball Team
Nick Lenzendorf (1B) - Viterbo
Ryan Lopez (2B) - Mount Mercy
Alex Chavez (SS) - William Penn
Brian Cummings (3B) - Ashford
Dean Molitor (OF) - Clarke
Ryan Harding (OF) - Mount Mercy
Shane Michaels (OF) - Viterbo
Derrick Weber (SP) - Mount Mercy
Rey Lopez (C) - Mount Mercy