MCC News

Wed, Mar. 3, 2010 - [Men's Basketball] - Viewed 2492 times - Post By
Scott Buschman: MCC MBB Player of the Year
Scott Buschman: MCC MBB Player of the Year
Mount Pleasant, Iowa - The Midwest Collegiate Conference has announced its men's basketball all-conference honors for the 2009-10 season. Twenty-two athletes were recognized on the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches, including 10 to the First Team and 12 as Honorable Mention.

Viterbo senior forward Scott Buschman (Naperville, Ill.) was voted as MCC Player of the Year. Buschman led the conference in scoring (20.4 points per game), rebounds (11.3) and blocked shots (1.2) and helped the V-Hawks to a share of the MCC regular season title. He also led the nation in rebounding and paced the MCC in both offensive and defensive rebounding while also finishing seventh in the MCC in field goal percentage (51.0%). Buschman finished his career at Viterbo as just the third player in school history to score more than 2,000 points (2,007) and the first with more than 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds.

"This is a tremendous honor for Scott and the rest of the team," said Viterbo Head Coach Wayne Wagner."It is a credit to all of the hard work that Scott and each individual put in to help the team become so successful during the conference season culminating, with a share of the MCC championship.The individual numbers that Scott put up speak for themselves, but the heart, the passion and the work ethic that Scott displayed in the offseason and throughout the season itself were the key to his and the team's success this year."

St. Ambrose junior guard Justin Tiner (Aurora, Ill.) was chosen as the MCC Newcomer of the Year. A transfer from Triton Community College in River Grove, Ill., Tiner led the conference in three-point shooting (41.0%) and was among the conference leaders in scoring (13th, 13.8 ppg), assists (4th, 3.7 apg), field goal percentage (13th, 48.5%) and three-pointers per game (5th, 2.1 3-ptrs/game).

Mount Mercy head coach Paul Gavin was selected by his peers as the MCC Coach of the Year. Gavin adjusted his offense this season to a fast-paced attack that was second in the MCC averaging 85.5 points per game. He led the Mustangs to a 22-9 overall record and a tie for third place in the MCC, and the 22 wins were the second-most in school history.

"Paul recognized his players' talents and adapted the style of play and his style of coaching to fit their strengths," said Mount Mercy Athletic Director Scot Reisinger. "This is the sign of an outstanding coach, and the result was the second-most wins in school history. Paul has been a contributor to Mount Mercy's athletic department for over 20 years as a player, coach, and fundraiser; this recognition is an honor for him and his team."


Midwest Collegiate Men's Basketball All-Conference

MCC Player of the Year: Scott Buschman - Viterbo
MCC Newcomer of the Year: Justin Tiner - St. Ambrose

MCC Coach of the Year: Paul Gavin - Mount Mercy

First Team
Byron Emerson - Ashford
Daniel Joiner - Ashford
Grant Burns - Grand View
Corey Viet - Grand View
Keith Kuenstling - Mount Mercy
Mike Kennedy - St. Ambrose
Eric Ambrose - Viterbo
Scott Buschman - Viterbo
Karl Dehesa - Waldorf
Kris Miller - William Penn

Honorable Mention Team
Cory Billingsley - Clarke
Greg Schulz - Grand View
Jared Callanan - Iowa Wesleyan
Jake Carey - Mount Mercy
James Henderson - Mount Mercy
Alex Burkle - St. Ambrose
Chris Donnelly - St. Ambrose
Justin Tiner - St. Ambrose
Nick Stilwell - Viterbo
Chris Holloway - Waldorf
Jeremy Winters - Waldorf
Joel Stout - William Penn