MCC News

Wed, Mar. 4, 2009 - [Women's Basketball] - Viewed 2731 times - Post By Molly Brown
Ali Dolphin - Player of the Year
Ali Dolphin - Player of the Year

Des Moines, Iowa - The Midwest Collegiate Conference announced it women's basketball all-conference honors. Twenty athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches; ten to the First Team and ten to the Honorable Mention Team.

St. Ambrose sophomore guard Ali Dolphin (Marshalltown, Iowa) was selected as the MCC Player of the Year. Dolphin led the MCC in steals (3.75 spg), assist-to-turnover ratio (1.63), and was among leaders in scoring (2nd - 18.4 ppg), rebounding (3rd - 10.1 rpg), assists (3rd - 4.88), free throw percentage (81.7%), and blocks (5th - 1.19 bpg). Dolphin is a two-time First Team MCC selection and was the MCC Player of the Week three times this season.

"Ali had another outstanding season for us. As a person and as a player, Ali exemplifies what our program stands for with her tremendous work ethic and unselfishness that she brings every time she is on the court. Ali very much deserves this recognition and it is exciting for us to know she is just scratching the surface on what she can still accomplish," said St. Ambrose head coach Nathan Altenhofen.

Mount Mercy junior forward Shanda Novak (Oxford, Iowa) was deemed the MCC Newcomer of the Year. Novak, a transfer from Iowa Lakes Community College, was among leaders in the MC in scoring (12.8 ppg), rebounding (7th - 8.1 rpg), field goal percentage (56.5%), and blocks (8th - .94 bpg). She was the MCC Player of the Week twice this year.

Iowa Wesleyan head coach Steve Williamson was selected by his peers as the MCC Coach of the Year. Williamson led the Tigers to the MCC regular season title, the MCC Tournament title, and the program's third NAIA Division II National Tournament berth in four years. After 19 consecutive losing seasons, Iowa Wesleyan has experienced four straight 20-win seasons under Williamson.

"Steve has worked hard to restore respect to the women's basketball program at Iowa Wesleyan. He and his athletes have put in a lot of time and hard work to achieve their goals and make it to the national tournament. The Iowa Wesleyan community congratulates Steve on this award voted on by his peers," said Iowa Wesleyan Athletic Director Mike Hampton.

Midwest Collegiate Women's Basketball All-Conference
MCC Player of the Year: Ali Dolphin - St. Ambrose
MCC Newcomer of the Year: Shanda Novak - Mount Mercy
MCC Coach of the Year: Steve Williamson - Iowa Wesleyan

First Team
Jodi Nikkel (Sully, Iowa) - Grand View
Bailey Schechinger (Manilla, Iowa) - Grand View
Ali DeVries (Bellevue, Iowa) - Iowa Wesleyan
Rachel Mitchell (Des Moines, Iowa) - Iowa Wesleyan
Jessie Dirks (Monticello, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Jenny Clark (Cambridge, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Ali Dolphin (Marshalltown, Iowa) - St. Ambrose
Katina Mandylaris (Melbourne, Australia) - Viterbo
Sarah Swanson (Britt, Iowa) - Waldorf
Christa Subbert (Stanton, Iowa) - William Penn

Honorable Mention Team
Kelly Fisher (Fremont, Calif.) - Ashford
Joquetta Rolle (Cocoa, Fla.) - Clarke
Alicia Onnen (Manson, Iowa) - Grand View
Jamie Sickles (Readlyn, Iowa) - Grand View
Heather Larson (Canton, Ill.) - Iowa Wesleyan
Catalina de la Quintana (Santiago, Chile) - Mount Mercy
Shanda Novak (Oxford, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Megan Forster (Fairmont, Minn.) - Waldorf
Rachel Hannam (St. Ansgar, Iowa) - Waldorf
Kate Milbrandt (Elmore, Minn.) - Waldorf