MCC News

Tue, Feb. 28, 2012 - [Men's Basketball] - Viewed 1794 times - Post By
Mike Kennedy (SAU): MCC MBB Player of the Year
Mike Kennedy (SAU): MCC MBB Player of the Year
The Midwest Collegiate Conference has announced its men's basketball all-conference honors for the 2011-12 season. Twenty-two athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches, including ten to the First Team and twelve to the Honorable Mention Team.

St. Ambrose senior forward Mike Kennedy (Evergreen Park, Ill.) was named MCC Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Kennedy averaged 18.9 points, 8.8 rebounds and 1.5 steals per game and shot 51.3% from the field. He led the conference in scoring and rebounding and also ranked sixth in steals. He also was in the top 15 in the MCC in field goal percentage (13th), free throw percentage (70.0%, 14th) and assists (2.2 per game, 15th).

"Mike is truly an outstanding player," said St. Ambrose Head Coach Ray Shovlain. "The reason he is so great is his versatility and how he plays on both ends of the floor. He's an excellent team player and can do it all - shoot, pass, rebound and play defense."

St. Ambrose freshman Nicholas Frazier (Bellwood, Ill.) was named MCC Newcomer of the Year. Frazier came into the league as a freshman and quickly was one of the top scorers and shooters in the conference, averaging 16.7 points per game and shooting 54.7% from the field, including 47.7% from three-point range. He led the MCC in three-point shooting percentage and was fourth in scoring, sixth in three-pointers made per game (1.9) and eighth in field goal percentage.

"Nick is one-of-a-kind as far as being a freshman student-athlete making such an impact right away," said Shovlain. "He is a great player and a great young man."

Shovlain made it a St. Ambrose sweep of the conference's individual awards, as he was named MCC Coach of the Year after leading SAU to both the conference regular season and tournament championships. The Bees won the regular season title by four games and steamrolled through the MCC Tournament, wrapping up a trip to the NAIA Division II National Championships in Point Lookout, Mo. St. Ambrose has won 15 straight games heading into the national tourney and has risen to 15th in the national rankings. It is the fifth time in his career at SAU that Shovlain has won the Coach of the Year honor, and the first time since 2004-05.

Midwest Collegiate Men's Basketball All-Conference
MCC Player of the Year: Mike Kennedy - St. Ambrose
MCC Newcomer of the Year: Nicholas Frazier - St. Ambrose
MCC Coach of the Year: Ray Shovlain - St. Ambrose

First Team
Javier Valdez (Maturin, Venezuela) - Ashford
Charles Nunn (Kearns, Utah) - Clarke
Kevin Smith (Ankeny, Iowa) - Grand View
Chad Underwood (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Chris Donnelly (Peoria, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Nicholas Frazier (Bellwood, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Mike Kennedy (Evergreen Park, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Brian Tollette (Hot Springs, Ark.) - Waldorf
Alan Douglas (Champaign, Ill.) - William Penn
Blake Walker (Smyrna, Ga.) - William Penn

Honorable Mention Team
Brandon Eley (Zearing, Iowa) - AIB
Jason Landry (Milwaukee, Wis.) - Ashford
Peter Tanzillo (Kewanee, Ill.) - Ashford
Bryan Louff (Santa Monica, Calif.) - Clarke
Kody Ingle (Altoona, Iowa) - Grand View
Jeremy Simmons (Jackson, Tenn.) - Iowa Wesleyan
Kyle Warner (Gresham, Ore.) - Iowa Wesleyan
Alex Coleman (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Sam Kenyi (Rochester, Minn.) - Mount Mercy
Izac Sheforgen (St. Francis, Minn.) - Viterbo
Matt Turba (Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.) - Viterbo

Taylor Stoutner (Keota, Iowa) - William Penn