MCC News

Wed, Nov. 9, 2011 - [Women's Soccer] - Viewed 1962 times - Post By
Jordyn Thompson (GVU): MCC Player of the Year
Jordyn Thompson (GVU): MCC Player of the Year
The Midwest Collegiate Conference has announced its women's soccer all-conference honors for the 2011 season. Thirty athletes were recognized as part of the all-conference teams as voted by the coaches, including 14 to the First Team and 16 to the Honorable Mention Team.

Grand View junior forward Jordyn Thompson (Newton, Iowa) was named the MCC Player of the Year. Thompson led the conference in goals (23) and points (52) and also was fourth in the league in assists (six). She scored seven game-winning goals to lead the MCC and rank fourth nationally in that category, and she also ranks among the NAIA national leaders in goals (eighth nationally), points (ninth) and points per game (tenth). Thompson helped the Vikings to a share of the MCC regular season title and into the conference tournament championship game against St. Ambrose.

"I am happy for Jordyn, she is very deserving of the award as she has worked very hard and has been very patient over the last two and half years," said Grand View Head Coach Ventsi Stoimirov. "I knew that we are getting a quality player three years ago, but serious injuries prevented Jordyn from showing her true potential her freshman and sophomore year.Being ranked in the top 10 in three of the goal scoring categories is a significant achievement for any player, but is especially meaningful for a true striker like Jordyn. That is what she thrives to do on the field and she is relentless in her pursuit to create and score goals. She knows that is her role on the team and she has embraced it."

Iowa Wesleyan freshman forward Erin Lucido (St. Louis, Mo.) was named the MCC Newcomer of the Year. Lucido tallied 15 goals and eight assists this year for 38 points, finishing second in the MCC in points and assists and tied for second in goals. She broke IWC school records for goals and points in a season and tied the school record for assists, and led the Tigers to a school record for wins, an eight-win improvement in their overall record and a jump of four spots in the MCC standings from 2010 to 2011.

"Erin had a terrific freshman season, and was not only one of the best freshmen but one of the best players in the conference, period," said Iowa Wesleyan Head Coach Sara Williamson. "She is outstanding with the ball at her feet and frequently worked through three and four players to score goals or to set up teammates for goals. The fact that she ranked second in the MCC in assists shows she was more than just a one-dimensional player and could make plays for others as well as herself.She is fun to coach and works hard in games, and her ability and determination has helped us move our program forward this year."

Grand View's Stoimirov also was named the MCC Coach of the Year. Stoimirov led the Vikings to a share of the MCC regular season title and the top seed in the MCC Tournament, as well as wins in 12 of their last 13 games heading into the MCC Tournament championship game. It is the third time in his career and the first time since 2004 that Stoimirov has received the top award for MCC coaches.

Midwest Collegiate Women's Soccer All-Conference
MCC Player of the Year: Jordyn Thompson - Grand View
MCC Newcomer of the Year: Erin Lucido - Iowa Wesleyan

MCC Coach of the Year: Ventsi Stoimirov - Grand View

First Team
Hollie Babut (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - Ashford
Jerika Castillo (Iowa City, Iowa) - Ashford
Chelsea Fisher (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - Ashford
Mackenzie Mueller (Sycamore, Ill.) - Ashford
Abby Willich (Davenport, Iowa) - Clarke
Lindsey Bardole (Round Rock, Texas) - Grand View
Jordyn Thompson (Newton, Iowa) - Grand View
Alecia Werner (Maplewood, Minn.) - Grand View
Katie Zenz (Des Moines, Iowa) - Grand View
Brianna Hunzeker (Waukee, Iowa) - St. Ambrose
Sara Kulaga (Plainfield, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Grace Ripslinger (Davenport, Iowa) - St. Ambrose
Molly Rockrohr (Chicago Heights, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Steph Wisen (Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.) - Viterbo

Honorable Mention Team
Brittany Paustian (Bettendorf, Iowa) - Ashford
Sara Doerr (Dubuque, Iowa) - Clarke
Emily Rehfus (Lemont, Ill.) - Clarke
Beth Sherer (Spring Hill, Iowa) - Clarke
Kaylee Steen (Hermantown, Minn.) - Clarke
Deb Jenkins (Hereford, England) - Grand View
Bridgette Niles (Sioux City, Iowa) - Grand View
Erin Lucido (St. Louis, Mo.) - Iowa Wesleyan
Dana Poellet (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) - Mount Mercy
Kerry Hardiman (Orland Park, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Kelly Schroeder (Crest Hill, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Courtney Seffrood (Oswego, Ill.) - St. Ambrose
Breanne Burry (Huntley, Ill.) - Viterbo
Sarah Ingles (Baraboo, Wis.) - Viterbo
Airenne Curry (Hayward, Calif.) - Waldorf
Melisa Wink (Brookfield, Ill.) - William Penn